Words worth speaking

Wednesday

Psalm 19

File:Free jumbled type texture for layers free creative commons (3020250442).jpg

Photo by D Sharon Pruitt

14 Let the words of my mouth
and the meditation of my heart
be acceptable to you, O LORD,
my rock and my redeemer.

I wrote about this verse, a portion of our psalm this coming Sunday, in my blog: Jacob Limping. That reflection was more personal, about these words as a pastor’s prayer in preaching.

But these words are meant to be our prayer, all of us. And what would the world be like if all our words, and all that we meditated on, all the words that we speak and those we rehearse and relive again and again in our heads, were acceptable to God?

So much of our speech is vain in the sense of empty. Some is vain in the regular sense, puffing up the self. Some is petty. Some is angry. Some is just theatrics, the feigned outrage of politicians and the nattering nabobs. Some is malicious. Some deceitful. Some terribly destructive and degrading. Who thinks it appropriate to text another that they should commit suicide? How did we get to such a place?

14 Let the words of my mouth
and the meditation of my heart
be acceptable to you, O LORD,
my rock and my redeemer.

This is not just the psalmist’s prayer that his poem may be pleasing to God. It is a prayer that all speech would be right and good and honorable, building up not tearing down, healing not wounding, giving life not taking it.

Words are precious things. Thoughts are too. We should not waste them.

I had a friend in college who believed that all of us were given a fixed number of words to speak in our lifetime. When we used them up, we died. Needless to say, she was a person of few words. But when she spoke, they mattered. They were words worth speaking.

14 Let the words of my mouth
and the meditation of my heart
be acceptable to you, O LORD,
my rock and my redeemer.

 

Photo: By Pink Sherbet Photography from USA [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
Leave a Reply

